I’m all in, but only by His strength!


The command to rest.
February 16, 2009, 7:32 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yeaterday morning in the sermon pastor Tim spoke on genesis 1:31-2:3.  He spoke to us about God’s day of rest after He had made the entire world and how He commands us to do the same thing.  Can you believe it God commands us to rest.  Who would have thought?  Well we already knew…it is the fourth commandment.  We just need a little reminder every once and a while.  Pastor Tim said that as the commanded day of rest for us was intended for us as a gift and we have a knack of turning it into a burden.  We are so go, go, go wanting to get things done that we don’t take the time to sit back relax and reflect on the things God has done for us and to read His word and truly know who He not by what we think with our natural minds but rather by scripture and who He says He is.  It was very convicting.  Not only do I not set aside the time to read scripture enough but I also fail to reflect on what I do read and how amazing God is and how He is so worthy of my entire life.  So much more growth is needed in my life but praise God He is doing it.  God bless you all and please pray for me.  I’m praying for you.

chelsea


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I completely agree with you. I too don’t spend enough time in God’s Word or enough time resting in meditation of His goodness toward me. Praise God.

-Jonathan

Comment by Jonathan




Leave a comment