I’m all in, but only by His strength!


The struggle between flesh and spirit!
February 20, 2009, 1:36 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

This one has been a work in progress for a few weeks.  As most of you may know I used to be a frequent attender of thursday country line dance night at the graduate (a local 18 and over night hang out) and you probably also know that I stopped going I would say about two years ago.  Because of a lack of boldness in the past I failed to mention that the reason I stopped going was due to the bad fellowship that I was getting there.  Although my motives were not to go to get picked up on or specifically to get attention from others for something that I was actually pretty good at they also were ungodly in that my motives were not to share the gospel with the many people that attend that are not saved.  I was going to have fellowship with all these people who I truly have nothing in common with scripture even says that unbelievers are haters of God.  Why do I want to hang out with those who hate my Father.  God calls believers to be separated from unbelievers, and this is why I stopped going line dancing.  

There is a great sermon by A. W. Pink on God’s call to believers not to be unequally yolked together with unbelievers, to be completely separate from them.  I encourage you all to read it because it is a biblical argument for believers not to have fellowship with unbelievers.  http://www.sermonindex.net/modules/articles/index.php?view=article&aid=1124  Psalm one says we are blessed if we do not walk on the same path as the ungodly, we are supposed to stay as far as possible from the path.  Also another good scripture is 1 Corinthians 15:33 and there are so many more.  

I do not believe that believers should be completely separated from unbelievers.  I firmly hold that God puts us in places with unbelievers such as school and work for evangelism purposes and that we are sent to be among them but not of them.  We are to be around them to share the gospel with them but not to just be buddy buddy to them.  We are not to be influenced by their bad habits but rather to be light to them and call them to repentance.  We have no other purpose for them but to proclaim the gospel to them.

I recently went back to the graduate after not having been in the last two years.  It was after all this that I felt the conviction to call you all to this calling of God to be separated from unbelievers.  It was then also that I re-realized my initial purposes for my discontinued attendance.  I realized how different sanctification makes you from the world how joyful and truly alive believers are compared to the spiritually dead people in the world.  I am exposed to unbelievers daily at school and in everyday tasks but it didn’t really hit me.  It is truly heartbreaking.  As I was at the graduate I recalled past memories of the liveliness of the dancing and the fun and this time it wasn’t fun it had somewhat of a sadness to it like all the people there were not having as much fun as they used to, the liveliness seemed almost completely extinct.  It was as if they were aware of their future.  Now this very well could be my own perception as if the spiritual growth in my life over the past few years had made me less joyful from such fellowship and therefore I saw it differently.  But I don’t know.  This is just some food for thought.  

I hope for you all to be in the word.  May God bless you!  Pray for me, i’m praying for you.  

much love in Christ,

Chelsea


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment